When I was much younger and very into the concept of “love”, “falling in love” and all the good stuff that comes with that, Canada Dry put out an advertising campaign with a catchy jingle “Ginger Ale tastes like love.”  

Also,  being much younger, I was very much into my opinions and getting huffy and indignant about things and I remember how particularly huffy and indignant (and offended?) I got about this particular advertising campaign, vehemently opining to anyone who would listen to me “What do they mean it tastes like love!!!!!  How dare they compare their soda to love!  I like ginger ale, but comparing it to LOVE That cheapens the whole sentiment (etc. etc.)!!!”

Eventually I got over it.

===========

I am insured by Allstate.  I have my car insurance, homeowners insurance and life insurance policies with them.  My ex & I have been with Allstate for over 15 years, paying them almost $500 a month in assorted premiums.

When I first noticed the water leaking into my kitchen, on a Thursday, I called the plumber.  When the plumber came out, and realized there was probably a ton of water in the ceiling, they said they would have to get in there immediately, dry it out and find the source.

Right away I called Allstate Claims.  I told them everything that was going on, what we were doing (ripping out the ceiling shower floor, etc.),  Allstate said they would send an adjuster out the following Tuesday, and added that all the contractors could contact them directly for billing.  

The Claims rep. appeared very concerned, and added  “Will you need to stay in a hotel?”  What a wonderful “good hands” feeling sort of thing!  

The adjuster came out that Tuesday.  By now, the whole upstairs shower had been ripped out, as well as the kitchen ceiling underneath.  He looked over some of the beams and said “it’s obvious that this has been going on for awhile.  Allstate will only cover “sudden and accidental loss” claims for water damage.

I said, well this was sudden for us.  The leak in the kitchen was the first time we became aware of any problem, and dealt with it immediately.”  The adjuster replied while that may be so, it appeared obvious that this has been going on for awhile.

To which I mildly sarcastically retorted “So, as a homeowner, my responsibility is to periodically rip out the ceilings to make sure there’s no water collecting anywhere?” 

He laughed and said something like “pretty much.”

The report from Allstate came back they were denying the claim because 1) there were signs of long term leakage from underneath shower pan and 2) because we had been advised not to do  demolition prior to inspection”.  This part was a lie.  Allstate knew full well everything that was going on.

The lie part of the report got me so angry that I consulted an attorney, who told me there was no case because the policy did state the damage had to be “sudden and accidental” and Allstate was able to make a case that it wasn’t.  

I called my agent to express my unhappiness at all that had transpired, that they weren’t covering any of this.  He said, well, you actually have our premium homeowners’ policy.  

What can you say.  Yippee.  I have the super duper deluxe policy.  Good for me.

==============

A parade of amicable repairmen have been trouncing through my house this past month, from demolition guys to plumbers to tilers to ceiling-drying people to shower rebuilders, everyone assuming my insurance company would be covering their bill.  

When I’ve said no and they ask whom I’m with & I tell them Allstate, more than one has made the same funny joke: “You’re in good hands with Allstate, until you make a claim.”  Many have recommended other companies who would’ve covered this, and I will be doing some shopping soon.

It’s funny, one of my students, a little girl, was over the house the other day and I was updating her mother on all the action here and the little girl looked at me wide-eyed and surprised and said “Allstate!  But I’ve always heard ‘You’re in good hands with Allstate!”

The older you get, the more cynical you become to the hype and glitter of advertising slogans.  All the crappy promises out there, really.    show me da money.   

=================

It’s a new year coming up.  Everything, all new.  New president.

A lot of my friends were serious Obama supporters.  Mostly for reasons like “He’s going to bring much needed change to our country.  He offers hope.”

A comedy show I tuned into a few weeks before the election was doing a thing on Obama as the “Chope” candidate.  (Change and Hope = “Chope”).  They kept chanting   “chope”.  It was actually pretty funny.

Things aren’t that funny right now for a lot of people.  There’s an air of depression in the air, what with the economy and all, so many people are scared, hoping for things to get better, afraid they won’t.

I’m hoping that the “chope” candidate will be able to come through on all his good promises and slogans.  A lot of people are.